top of page
  • Writer's pictureKell Sharpe

M3gan


 



Director: Gerard Johnstone
Starring: Allison Williams, Violet McGraw


When I saw this film first promoted before a viewing of Avatar 2, I was convinced that it was just going to be another poorly made horror story about a child that get's a toy for Christmas and eventually the toy turns evil with intentions of destroying humanity.


My predictions were not far wrong.


Upon initial impression, I did not think that I would be eager to see the film, nor did I think it would be any good. But after seeing the initial reviews from various critics and audiences, as well as seeing how well the film had done to promote itself, I figured I would go and see what the fuss is all about.


And after viewing, I am still not sure what the fuss is all about.


The film sets up a boring and repetitive premise that we have seen a million times before in the horror film genre: child loses parents and is forced to live with distant family member which they have no real connection with. This was then followed up by the predictable idea of: girl gets toy that turns evil and wants to kill her.


I genuinely feel as though you don't even need to pay the £5.99 to go to the cinemas to watch this film, just watch the trailer, you can essentially see the full storyline unfold within those three minutes.


I hate to admit it but M3gan is just another typical horror film that fails to bring anything new into the picture that has an extremely predictable storyline, failing to push audience members anywhere far from the middle of their seat.


The only spin that this film attempts too take on so it differs from traditional horror stories is the fact that instead of a doll that turns evil, it is in fact a robot doll that turns evil. And once you get past this small distraction, you are essentially watching a remake of Child's Play.


Given that this film is officially classed a a "horror", the movie really fails to live up to the frightening standards that have been set in the past by other productions that lie within the genre. If anything, it is insulting to other films to even suggest that this film would be a fraction as scary as other horrors.


There are minimal attempted jump scares within the 1 hour and 42 minutes run time, and even when there is, they are easy to predict and barely make the audience quiver.


There was even more comedic moments within this movie than there were frightening, I can genuinely say that I laughed at this film more times than I jumped, and sometimes the laughing was just ate how bad the film truly is.


I suppose if you are a lover of horrors and would see enjoyment on the small twist within this film that differs it ever so slightly from any horror film you have seen before, then you could see some amusement within this film.


But for me personally, the movie just wasn't enticing or offering me enough to keep me interested for the full run time.


Another aspect to this film that ruined it for me, is how predictable it is to see the storyline play out.


Everything that happens in this movie, you can see that it is going to happen about 5-10 minutes before it actually happens. Like I mentioned before, the whole plot of this film is in the trailer.


I waited for so long for a plot twist to take me by surprise and take the film in a direction we didn't see coming, but it failed to do so and eventually left me very disappointed.


Overall Rating: 5.5/10



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page